Celebrating Raina Telgemeier’s Graphic Novels

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 5.22.41 PM.png
Today is the big release of Raina Telgemeier’s book, Baby-Sitters Club Book #4 Claudia and Mean Janine. My students are so excited! They’ve been counting down the days.

What would we do without Raina Telgemeier’s graphic novels?! My middle school students LOVE her books. My students read and reread them constantly. Here are 5 ways Raina Telgemeier’s books are helping my students become better readers:

  1. All readers adore them. They create enthusiasm for reading! Raina Telgemeier can do no wrong. Each of her books are gold! My middle schoolers adore them and are so excited that the new Baby-Sitters Club book is coming out today.
  2. My reluctant readers pour through them. I make a stack of books on my desk every Monday morning for students who need book recommendations. Smile and Sisters are my go-to books for my reluctant readers and they are on the top of my stack each Monday.
  3. These stories resonate with students. Each book has realistic characters who go through real-life troubles. Whether it is friendship challenges, family troubles, or difficulties at school, these stories feel very real and familiar to readers.
  4. Rebooting Baby-Sitters Club. Enough said. I remember pouring through the Baby-Sitters Club books when I was a kid. I couldn’t wait for the next installment by Ann M. Martin. Now, I am so excited to see my students take up these books- both the graphic novels and the originals.
  5. Illustrations! Raina Telgemeier’s graphic novels are not only inspiring my students to read, they are inspiring them to draw. I love seeing my students draw their own graphic novel characters.

Raina Telgemeier’s new book, Claudia and Mean Janine comes out today! Yippppeee! Her new graphic novel, Ghosts, comes out September 13! I pre-ordered it on Amazon! Yahoo!

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 5.24.54 PM.png

 

Originally from Pennsylvania, Dana Johansen is hoping that Punxsutawney Phil will not see his shadow on Feb. 2 and there will be an early spring. In the meantime, she spends her time teaching fifth grade in wintery Connecticut, sitting with her yellow lab on the couch reading YA Lit, and watching the tv show, The Big Bang Theory. She has taught elementary and middle school for fourteen years. Dana is a doctoral student at Teachers College, Columbia University where she studies blended learning in reading and writing workshop. She is the co-author of the books Teaching Interpretation and Flip Your Writing Workshop. 

Please leave us a comment! We love the discussion!

